(318) 352-8152 info@npclerkofcourt.org



The trial court with general jurisdiction is the District Court. Sixty-three (63) of our sixty-four (64) parishes are divided into forty (40) judicial districts. In addition, the Parish of Orleans has its own court system. Each judicial district has at least one whole parish in it, but never more than three (3) parishes. Natchitoches Parish alone makes up the Tenth (10 th) Judicial District, whose address is as follows:

Tenth (10 th) Judicial District Court
David Stamey, Clerk of Court
P. O. Box 476
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0476
Phone (318) 352-8152, Fax (318) 352-9321


Most cases appealed from the District Court are heard by the Court of Appeal for that district. In each Court of Appeal, a majority of the judges sitting in a case must concur to render judgment.

Natchitoches Parish , as well as the parishes of Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Catahoula, Concordia, Evangeline, Grant, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Rapides, Sabine, St. Landry, St. Martin, Vermilion and Vernon, are under the jurisdiction of the Third Circuit Court of Appeal, whose address is as follows:

Court of Appeal, Third Circuit
Charles K. McNeely, Clerk
P. O. Box 16577
Lake Charles, LA 70616-6577
Phone (337) 433-9403, Fax (337) 491-2590


The Supreme Court of Louisiana is composed of a chief justice and six (6) associate justices, at least four of whom must concur to render judgment. The address and telephone number for the court are as follows:

Supreme Court of Louisiana
John Tarlton Olivier, Clerk
400 Royal Street
New Orleans, LA 70130-2104
Phone (504) 310-2550, Fax (504) 310-2587


Natchitoches Parish is under the jurisdiction of the United States District Court, Western District of Louisiana, Alexandria Division, whose address is as follows:

U. S. District Court, Western District of Louisiana
Alexandria Division
Marcia Leleux, Deputy Clerk-in-Charge
105 Post Office Building, 515 Murray Street
P. O. Box 1269
Alexandria, LA 71309-1269
Phone (318) 473-7415, Fax (318) 473-7345


The address for the Bankruptcy Court that has jurisdiction over Natchitoches Parish is as follows:

U. S. Bankruptcy Court, Western District of Louisiana
Alexandria Division
J. Barry Dunford, Clerk
300 Jackson Street, Suite 201
Alexandria, LA 71301-8357
Phone (318) 445-1890

Judges of the Tenth Judicial District


Hon. Desiree Duhon Dyess, Division “A”
P. O. Box 775
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0775
Phone (318) 357-2210, Fax (318) 357-2275


Hon. Lala B. Sylvester, Division “B”
P. O. Box 775
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0775
Phone (318) 357-2209, Fax (318) 357-2275

Parish Officials

Officials of Natchitoches Parish, who work closely with the Clerk of Court’s Office, are as follows:


Hon. Dollie Mahoney
P. O. Box 201
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0201
Phone (318) 352-2377, Fax (318) 357-0006


Hon. Billy J. Harrington
P. O. Box 838
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0838
Phone (318) 357-2214, Fax (318) 357-0006


Hon. Desiree Duhon Dyess, Division “A”
P. O. Box 775
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0775
Phone (318) 357-2210, Fax (318) 357-2275

Hon. Lala B. Sylvester, Division “B”
P. O. Box 775
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0775
Phone (318) 357-2209, Fax (318) 357-2275


Deborah S. Waskom
P. O. Box 677
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0677
Phone (318) 357-2211, Fax (318) 357-2212


Hon. Victor L. Jones, Jr.
P. O. Box 266
Natchitoches, LA 71458-0266
Phone (318) 352-6432, Fax (318) 357-2245

Senators and Representatives


DAVID VITTER (R) – Louisiana

  • 516 Hart Senate Building, Washington, DC 20510-1804, Phone (202) 224-4623, Fax (202) 228-5061
  • 2800 Veterans Boulevard, Suite 201, Metairie, LA 70002, Phone (504)589-2753, Fax (504)589-2607
  • 858 Convention Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70801, Phone (225)383-0331, Fax (225)383-0952
  • 2230 S. MacArthur Drive, Suite 4, Alexandria, LA 71301, Phone (318)448-0169, Fax (318)448-0189
  • 920 Pierremont Road, Suite 113, Shreveport, LA 71106, Phone (318)861-0437, Fax (318)861-4865
  • 1217 N. 19th Street, Monroe, LA 71201, Phone (318)325-8120, Fax (318)325-9165
  • Internet: http://vitter.senate.gov/

BILL CASSIDY (R) – Louisiana


JOHN C. FLEMING,  JR. (R) – Louisiana

  • 416 Cannon House Office Bldg, 1st St. & Constitution Ave. NE, Ste 416 – Washington, DC 20515, Phone (202)225-2777, Fax (202)225-8039
  • Internet: http://fleming.house.gov/
  • 6425 Youree Drive, Suite 350-Shreveport, LA 71105, Phone (318)798-2254, Fax (318)798-2063
  • 103 N 3rd Street – Leesville, LA 71446, Phone (337)238-0778, Fax (337)238-0566
  • 700 Benton Road – Bossier City, LA 71111, Phone (318)549-1712

STATE SENATOR:  (31st District)

GERALD LONG (R) – Louisiana

  • State Capitol, 900 N 3rd St, P. O. Box 94183, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-4183 (225)342-2040  Fax (225)342-1140
  • P. O. Box 151, Winnfield, LA  71483, Phone (318)628-5799, (800)265-2437, Fax (318)628-6120
  • Internet:  http://senate.legis.state.la.us/Long/


Kenny R. Cox (D) – Louisiana

Traffic Department

The Traffic Department is a part of the Criminal Department in Natchitoches Parish. The Clerk’s Office is responsible for the filing of all traffic citations issued by the Louisiana State Police, Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Department, and the various municipalities contained within the Tenth Judicial District in Natchitoches Parish.

The citations are for both moving and non-moving violations that fall under the Louisiana Code of Criminal & Traffic Procedure.

The Clerk’s Office issues all subpoenas for cases placed on the court docket by the Natchitoches Parish District Attorney.

The Natchitoches Parish Clerk of Court’s Office does not set any fines, nor does it collect fines.