David Stamey - Clerk
The April 29 election is a parish wide election. The polls will be open at 7:00 A.M. until 8:00 P.M. If you have questions, please call the Clerk of Court's office at (318) 352-8152 or the Registrar of Voters office at (318) 357-2211. The Secretary of State has an election application available at www.GeauxVote.com. It gives you information on where to vote, what's on the ballot and instant election results after the polls close.
|Date Of Election||March 25||April 29||October 14||November 18|
|Type Of Election||Municipal Primary||Municipal General||Open Primary||Open General|
|Deadline: Special Races||12/14/2016||n/a||6/14/2017||n/a|
|Last Day to Register to vote||2/22/2017||3/29/2017||9/13/2017||10/18/2017|
|Deadline to Request a Mail Ballot From Registrar||3/21/2017||4/25/2017||10/10/2017||11/14/2017|
|Deadline to receive Voted Mail Ballot||3/24/2017||4/28/2017||10/13/2017||11/17/2017|
|Early Voting Begins||3/11/2017||4/15/2017||9/30/2017||11/4/2017|
|Early Voting ends||3/18/2017||4/22/2017||10/7/2017||11/11/2017|
UPCOMING JURY TERMS
ALL PERSONS SUMMONED FOR JURY DUTY MUST CALL 318-352-2034 THE NIGHT BEFORE TO FIND OUT IF YOU ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT FOR JURY DUTY.
PLEASE CALL THE JUDGE'S OFFICE IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS CONCERNING THE JURY TERMS OR IF YOU HAVE AN EMERGENCY AND MUST ASK TO BE EXCUSED.
318-352-2034 - THIS IS A RECORDING - CALL THE NIGHT BEFORE!
318-357-2209 - OFFICE OF DIVISION B - JUDGE LALA B. SYLVESTER
318-357-2210 - OFFICE OF DIVISION A - JUDGE DESIREE DUHON DYESS
Effective October 1, 2016 all customers must write their Social Security Number (SSN) on their passport application. Customers who do not provide their SSN will experience delays in their processing or possibly the denial of their application.
Effective November 1, 2016 passport photos of customers wearing eye glasses will not be accepted except under special conditions. Beginning November 1, 2016, customers must remove their eye glasses when taking a photo for a U.S. passport.
Customer may wear glasses only in rare circumstances of medical necessity, (e.g., when a customer has had recent surgery and eye glasses are necessary to protect the applicant's eyes during urgent travel.)
Customer should obtain a signed statement from a medical professional or health practitioner in these cases.
Effective August 1, 2016, the Vital Statistics Office will increase the price of birth certificates and death certificates.
Birth Certificates will cost $34.00 and Death Certificates will cost $26.00.
Act 390 Bill SB350
Effective January 1, 2016 - Requirements to Obtain a License
Both Parties must be present in the Clerk's Office at the time of application. If one party cannot be present, that party shall sign the completed application before a notary prior to the other applicant's arrival at the Clerk's Office.
Certified Copies of birth certificates for both parties are required. Louisiana Birth Certificates may be purchased from the State through the Clerk's Office: Birth Certificate information and Social Security Numbers are required.
One of the following forms of ID is required: A valid and unexpired driver's license, a government issued ID card, a valid and unexpired passbook or an unexpired Visa accompanied by U. S. Form I-94.
Marriage License Application. This form can be acquired in "Forms" or the office.
$27.50 fee for marriage license in cash.
If a certified copy of a Louisiana birth certificate is needed, $34.00 fee per copy in cash (fee mandated by state). PLEASE ALLOW EXTRA TIME.
Armed Forces members need not be present to sign the license before a Deputy Clerk if the co-applicant attaches a copy of the member's Military ID.
If one party cannot be present to sign the license before a Deputy Clerk, the application may be signed before a Notary Public.
If an applicant does not have a social security number, a valid and unexpired passport from the country of the applicant's birth or an unexpired visa accompanied by a Form I-94 issued by the U.S. is required.
If an applicant was born outside of the U.S. and does not have a U.S. certified birth certificate from the place of birth, all of the following must be provided: a certified copy of the person's birth certificate from the place of birth, a translation to English of the birth certificate (if it is not in English), including a sworn declaration of translation, and a valid and unexpired passport or unexpired visa with U. S. issued Form I-94 verifying applicant is lawfully in the country.
The legal age in Louisiana to obtain a marriage license without parental consent is eighteen(18).
Minors sixteen (16) and seventeen (17) years of age must be accompanied by parents and proper identification. Minors under the age of sixteen (16) must also obtain written authorization to marry from the judge in the parish where the minor lives or the ceremony to be performed.
A seventy-two (72) hour waiting period is required between the time of license purchase and the performance of the ceremony. A waiver for this 72 hour waiting period may be obtained from a District Judge.
License may be used in any parish in the State.
A Covenant Marriage requires additional premarital counseling and two documents: declaration of intent and affidavit signed by the couple, counselor and notary. The forms are here: Covenant Marriage Forms.
Licenses may be purchased from the Clerk of Court's office on weekdays, Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The office is closed on Saturday and Sunday. If purchasing a certified copy of a Louisiana birth certificate, please allow extra time. We recommend at least an extra hour, but it could possibly be the next day depending on the connection to the state.
The license is valid for thirty (30) days; if not used, it must be returned to the Clerk's Office to be renewed. An additional fee is charged for renewal. If the license is not used, it should be returned to be cancelled off the books. The fee is not refunded.
Two (2) witnesses are required to sign the marriage license at the time of the ceremony.
The original marriage license is given to the married couple by the minister and the certificate of marriage is mailed to the Clerk's Office for recording.
Ministers are required to register with the Clerk of Court according to Act 229 of 1952.
VIEWING BY SUBSCRIPTION - $50.00 MONTHLY FEE-FIRST MONTH $50.00 ADDITIONAL SET-UP FEE
WELCOME TO THE NATCHITOCHES PARISH CLERK OF COURT'S WEB PAGE. WE WOULD LIKE TO INVITE YOU TO SUBSCRIBE TO OUR WEB VIEW FOR SEARCHING, VIEWING, AND PRINTING RECORDS, AND FOR SEARCHING FOR MARRIAGE LICENSES AND CIVIL DOCUMENTS RECORDED IN OUR OFFICE. IMAGES ARE AVAILABLE FOR CONVEYANCES AND MORTGAGES FROM 1976 TO CURRENT. WE HAVE CONVEYANCE INDICES FROM 1920 TO CURRENT AND MORTGAGE INDICES FROM 1965 TO CURRENT. IMAGES OF CIVIL RECORDS, PROBATE RECORDS, AND SMALL CLAIMS ARE NOW AVAILABLE .
THANK YOU FOR INQUIRING ABOUT OUR WEB PAGE. PLEASE CALL OUR OFFICE IF YOU WOULD LIKE ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION (318-352-8152).
Birth Certificates and Birth Cards are issued to anyone born in Louisiana. You are required to bring your valid Driver's License or Louisiana State I.D. for identity. Birth Cards are $14.00 and Birth Certificates (long form) are $24.00. This is a confidential document. You must come to the office in person or send a parent, grandparent, sister, or brother to request this document.
You may purchase a certified copy of a Louisiana Death Certificate from July 1, 2012 to current date. You may purchase a Death Certificate if you are Immediate family: current legal spouse, brother or sister, mother of father, grandchild, grandparent and legal guardian. Legal guardian must provide a judgment of custody for a minor. Also beneficiaries with copy of insurance policy naming person applying for certified copy of the Death Certificate; Last Will and Testament naming person applying for certified copy of the Death Certificate as a beneficiary; and Funeral Directors may request on behalf of surviving immediate family members within one year of the date of death.
You may apply at the Natchitoches Parish Clerk of Court's Office.
FOR MORE COMPLETE INFORMATION, PLEASE REFER TO SEPARATE SECTION UNDER TOPICS, "U.S. PASSPORTS"
Applications for passports are available at our office, or you may go to the National Passport web site (www.travel.state.gov) and print or fill out the form online. You are required to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate or a certified copy of your birth card (if it has the full name of both parents), a passport photo (available locally from Walgreens, Parcel Express, Walmart, or the Ink Spot), and a valid driver's license. For adults, an old passport book may be used as proof of citizenship instead of a birth certificate. Please check further for special requirements for children under age 16.
Please call our office for further information concerning passport books, passport cards, and renewals.
OFFICE HOURS ARE 8:30 A. M. to 4:30 P.M. - MONDAY - FRIDAY - EXCEPT LEGAL HOLIDAYS.
CONTRACT AND APPLICATION FOR ACCOUNT AVAILABLE ON WEB VIEW PAGE
Our conveyance, mortgages, charters, oil and gas, and civil and probate records are now online for viewing by subscription. Our conveyances and mortgages may be viewed back to 1976. The conveyance indices may be viewed back to 1920. Mortgage indices may be viewed back to 1965.
You must submit an APPLICATION FOR AN ACCOUNT AND A CONTRACT to our office with payment. Details are in the contract.