Marriage Licenses

REQUIREMENTS:

Pursuant to applicable Louisiana statutes, applicants for Marriage Licenses must provide:

  • Social Security Numbers
  • Valid ID (unexpired driver's license, a government issued ID card, a valid and unexpired passport or an unexpired Visa accompanied by U.S. Form I 94      
  • Application for Marriage License (both parties must be present in the Clerk's Office at time of application.  If one party cannot be present, that party shall sign the completed application before a notary prior to the other applicant's arrival at the Clerk's Office.       
  • A certified copy of both parties’ birth certificates;
  • Both parties’ social security numbers;
  • Full names (and mothers’ maiden names) and state of birth of applicants’ parents;
  • If either party was previously married, proof of how the marriage ended; i.e., a certified copy of divorce judgment or death certificate;
  • $27.50 cash.

The Marriage License can only be used within the State of Louisiana.

To purchase a Marriage License without parental consent or court order, applicants must be at least 18 years of age. If either party to the marriage is under the age of 18, the signatures of both parents are required. In addition, if the male is under the age of 18, and/or the female is under the age of 16, a court order is required in order to obtain a license.

Licenses must be purchased at least 72 hours (3 days) in advance of the ceremony. Marriage Licenses expire 30 days from the date of issue. After the ceremony, the original Marriage License is given to the couple and both certificates of marriage are returned to the Clerk of Court’s Office so that the marriage will be recorded.

COVENANT MARRIAGE:

Couples choosing to enter into a covenant marriage agree to be bound by certain legal limitations set out by the Covenant Marriage Act, including premarital counseling and strict limitations for seeking divorce. Detailed information is available in the Clerk of Court’s Office.

COPIES OF MARRIAGE LICENSES:

Mail-in requests for copies or certified copies of Marriage Licenses should provide names and date of marriage and should be accompanied by proper fees in the form of a money order. The fee for copies is $1.00 per page plus $5.00 for certification.

MINISTERS:

Ministers performing marriage ceremonies are required to register with the Clerk of Court in accordance with Act 229 of 1952.

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE:

Ward 2
Patrice T. Harper
1135 Hart Rd.
Campti, LA 71411
Telephone:  318-875-2112
Ward 3
Shelia Pleasant Cagle
10363 Hwy. 120
Robeline, LA 71469
Phone (318) 472-8739
Ward 4
Rhonda Sanders
P. O. Box 5
Cloutierville, LA 71416
Phone (318) 332-7116

For More Information Call (318) 352-8152